gossip lanka

SJB divided, some attend Ranil’s tea party

The SJB was divided on its stand on President Ranil Wickremesinghe’s Government Policy Speech in Parliament yesterday.

A large number of SJB MPs, led by Opposition and SJB leader Sajith Premadasa, left the Chamber as the President’s speech commenced, while some SJB MPs remained in their seats.
Gampaha District SJB MP Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka, Kalutara District SJB MP Dr. Rajitha Senaratne, Champika Ranwawaka and other Opposition MPs Kumara Welgama, Ishak Rahuman, Faizal Cassim, Wadivel Suresh, A. H. M. Fowzie and TNA MPs were in the chamber.

MP Ranawaka was seen leading several opposition MPs to attend the tea party hosted by President Wickremesinghe after delivering the government’s policy statement.